Home > Life or something like it > Entry 01/21/2008 03:12:39 PM – Mentat 383

Entry 01/21/2008 03:12:39 PM – Mentat 383

01/22/2008

"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand – strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO – What a Ride!"


     I had a conversation with D this morning about the drama that had come to visit his life at 3 in the morning, and during the course of that conversation, this particular saying had come to mind that I felt the need to share with him.  We often can’t dictate what life is going to throw at us based on our schedule, and more often times than naught, Life has a habit of throwing things at us based on its schedule. 
     *Takes a deep breath*  Yeah, he’s had quite a bit of drama thrown in his direction last night…  And I’m not entirely sure I’ve talked the right kind of sense to him.  But only time will tell with that… 

     Speaking of D…  He had some issues with some of the updates that he was trying to put on his Laptop, namely the drivers for his video card, which caused me to perform a walkthrough on mine, only to find out that my video drivers were also in need of an update.  Seems that the ICCs for my video card have significantly improved with the 12/19 update.  Although they’ve broken out the temperature controls that I was familiar with by going into the Display Options and put them their own separate set of processes. 
     So I’m thinking that because the Windows drivers had changed that the ones for Ubuntu would change as well…  So off to Ubuntu I went only to find that Envy wouldn’t install the drivers.  Read someplace that one sometimes needed to uninstall the current drivers in order for the new drivers to download.  HA!!  That didn’t work so now Ubuntu’s display can’t get above 8 x 6 (800 x 600) because I’m getting the following error when trying to start the install: 

python pulse.py nvidia root@mbaldelli-desktop:/usr/share/envy# python pulse.py nvidia ENVY ERROR: Your Operative System does not seem to be supported by Envy

     Nice huh? 
     Did a quick check through the forums for this particular error, and didn’t find one at the Canonical site forums, but I didn’t really start looking through that or the Google Linux site like I normally would.  Leaving that for another time or another day depending on how I felt, when I returned back to Windows, I began to think a little about it…
     I don’t really putter around Linux as much as I did when I first loaded it up on my machine, and since I’ve loaded up not only Falcon’s Eye (and Vulture’s Eye and Vulture’s Claw which are the upgraded programs to Falcon’s Eye), but also Stellarium on Windows, I don’t see much use or need of going into Ubuntu for much else.  BasKet is a OneNote equivalent, and most of the games that I tend to play are already loaded up in Windows.  Hell, for giggles, I loaded up Open Office on the Windows side, so I don’t necessarily see any use of bouncing over to Ubuntu to do a file translation either. 
     Spoke to my aunt about how Ubuntu got blown out, and the typical New England response to this was, "if you didn’t pay for it…   get rid of it…" 
     Funny that about New Englanders…  If you pay for it, try to make it work, no matter how much of a piece of crap it is, but if it’s free, don’t kill yourself trying to figure it out… 
     So over the next couple of days, I’m going to either try to fix the problem, or consider wiping out Ubuntu completely from my machine.  Won’t be hard to do that.  First off, I’ll just FIXMBR in Windows to remove the GRUB loader and then use Partition Magic to wipe out the Unix Native and Swap and move the remaining part of the partition back to NTFS. 
     More on that later this week, I would imagine… 

     Dreams?  Ha…  I know I’m having them.  Some pretty intricate and crazy ones…  Mainly because of the nonsense that I’ve been watching, and some of the RP’ing that D and I have been doing. Fortunately for me though, I don’t much remember what they’ve been.  Sometimes I tend to remember them just prior to my going to bed, but by that time, I’m too tired and not wanting to get up to write about them.  Maybe I’ll be lucky one time and catch it…  They’re amusing enough to write about… 

     I’ll write more after the room take-over on Yahoo…  Off to perform a public service for the queens that think a public room can be considered their own and take pride that they’re either pedophiles or that their friends with pedophiles.  More when I get back…

[Last Edited: 01/21/2008 06:48:23 PM]

     Well that room take-over didn’t go quite the way that we expected tonight.  Seemed to be going rather well at first, ’til I saw someone in the room that I had tried to target, and ended up not getting him, tried three times, and then realized that it might be someone that did get bombed off, so I was moving onto one of the harder targets within the room, and ended up banning myself from Yahoo Chat because of it.  Then I’m sitting there looking at the name, and remembered that it was Anton’s bot that he uses to grab back the mic when someone’s locking.  And boy was I annoyed with that.
     Then Anton in his prescription induced attitude starts chatting with the lot of them as though he’s their best friend, causing my friend Luke to go bugger about it.  Luke’s going to have a talk to Anton about that, and I will as well later on when I’m no longer banned from the Chat service.  *chuckling*  My how the mighty become nothing more than prescription medication Dead Heads… 

     Not too much else to talk about at the moment.  Off to play a game or two and then chat with Anton about his bizarrely absentminded attitude in the room tonight during the take-over.  Until the next time.

  1. Marc
    01/22/2008 at 1:34 am

    ooooooooooooo unbunti gone now lol i used it once never again lol 

  2. Michael
    01/22/2008 at 2:10 am

    It’s not gone on my system yet.  It’s only busted at the moment.  There’s a 50/50…  Errr, maybe an 80/20 for me to wipe it off my system at the moment.  I admit that I do more graphics work in Windows as well (Terragen, Apophysis, and now Terragen 2) which makes it more convenient to work in.  Maybe you’ll see the results in the next blog entry.  Oh and this isn’t posting notes, this is only commenting on an entry.  You have to go into your start page here to go into notes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
