Home > Computers and Internet > Entry 03/31/2008 01:52:30 PM – Mentat 398

Entry 03/31/2008 01:52:30 PM – Mentat 398

03/31/2008
     *sighs*  Well, as I said in the last entry, I had been debating whether or not I should wait for Ubuntu 8.04 to come out so that I could install the new version because of a potential support gig that would require more Linux skills than I currently have.  So, I debated it over the last couple of days, going through Ubuntu’s site to see what the changes were and what to expect with the new version coming out.  A couple of the changes that they said were in store for 8.04 was Firefox 3.0 (which I new is supposed to be coming out soon based on the information I had been reading at some of the tech sites), as well as a couple of other installs in the back end.  The thing is though, a couple of the improvements, and most notable Firefox 3.0 is in fact dependant on whether Mozilla will release 3.0 on time.  Add to the fact that my last catastrophe with Ubuntu back last year involved drivers for both my sound and video cards, I had become really hesitant about re-installing it — in spite of the fact that all the programs that I liked using in Ubuntu have Windows versions that are currently installed on this computer. 
     So just as my brain was getting more than filled, and I was making the decision that I was going to go into a watch and wait state with Hardy Heron (8.04), I came across several forum posts describing that the 3D drivers for my video card had been worked out and that it’d be easier along with better 2D drivers already built into Ubuntu without having to use the 3rd party program Envy, I changed my mind as to whether I was going to wait — deciding instead to perform the install today.
     Heh, that went over "spectacularly".  Tried to use Partition Magic to resize the NTFS partition allowing for the Ext2/Swap on the resized information and ended up seeing a 1529 error whenever I tried to use it.   Went off reading more of Symantec’s Technical Support Forum and it’s telling me it’s a system file that’s reporting a bad attribute.  Thought about it and removed the Swap-File (PAGEFILE.SYS).  Still kicked back a 1529 error.  Went off to read the various Linux forums, and found that there had been other users having the issue, and that I had experienced.  Following the instructions that I found, I performed a CHKDSK /F on the drive, which reported back clean and no sector errors.  Still the same error. 
     Then I tried going into the Live Session for Ubuntu and running GParted, as I remembered that I had only half-luck the last time I had used it.  GParted reported that there were bad sectors on the hard drive and that I should run a CHKDSK /F /R on the disk and to reboot the machine a couple of times afterward to ensure that things were running smoothly.  Did so.  Reported back with no issues.  Tried again.  Still the same errors. 
     Came to the conclusion as I was sitting here saying, "WTF?!" that it might have something to do with the MBR as I recall that I had weird errors back when I was running a dual boot system, and that when I performed various move operations between Linux and Windows, the program in Windows reported that it couldn’t read specified header records.
     For the moment, I’m going to hold over another day and run another /F /R tonight before I go to bed.  Tomorrow, if it reports back clean again, I might try a Recovery Console and try a FIXMBR one more time to see if that doesn’t correct the issue.  If that doesn’t work — then I’m going to wait until 8.04 hits the streets and do a complete wipe — right down to the partition table and then try it again.  Sure it’ll be some time before I come back online — but you know — I’m about due for a complete wipe as there were other issues that had crept in during the various installations and patches, and I want to get those fixed as well.
     *sighs*  Always an adventure sometimes. 

     At the moment, while I’ve been more than a little bit crestfallen about this going bust, I find myself rather surprised by the lack of anger or a tantrum that I would have under different circumstances.  Either I’ve mellowed significantly, or I’m just the right kind of energetic/calm that I should be when dealing with computer issues.  I’ll have to keep that in mind the next time I try to work out the issues with the MBR and the Operating System and see whether I remain as calm through it then as I did today. 

     Woke up to an interesting song this morning…  Matchbox 20’s "How Far We’ve Come".  Like the beat to it, so propping myself up, went out to buy a copy of it off of iTunes.  Not quite the peppy tune that I expected, but I kept it nonetheless.  Going to drop it into D’s playlist as it seems more the sort of thing he’d listen to than me.  Following are the words to that song…

I’m waking up at the start of the end of the world,
but its feeling just like every other morning before,
now I wonder what my life is going to mean if it’s gone,
the cars are moving like a half a mile an hour if that
and I started staring at the passengers who’re waving goodbye
can you tell me what was ever really special about me all this time?

chorus:
but I believe the world is burning to the ground
oh well I guess we’re gonna find out
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
Well I, believe, it all, is coming to an end
oh well, I guess, we’re gonna pretend,
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come

I think it turned ten o’clock but I don’t really know
then I can’t remember caring for an hour or so
started crying and I couldn’t stop myself
I started running but there’s no where to run to
I sat down on the street and took a look at myself
said where you going man you know the world is headed for hell
say your goodbyes if you’ve got someone you can say goodbye to

I believe the world is burning to the ground
oh well I guess we’re gonna find out
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come

Well I, believe, it all, is coming to an end
oh well, I guess, we’re gonna pretend,
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come

its gone gone baby its all gone
there is no one on the corner and there’s no one at home
it was cool cool, it was just all cool
now it’s over for me and it’s over for you
well its gone gone baby its all gone
there is no one on the corner and there’s no one at home
well it was cool cool, it was just all cool
now it’s over for me and it’s over for you

but I believe the world is burning to the ground
oh well I guess we’re gonna find out
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
Well I, believe, it all, is coming to an end
oh well, I guess, we’re gonna pretend,
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come
let’s see how far we’ve come

     *grinning*  Speaking of…  D and I are still going as strongly now as we did almost six months ago.  Hard to imagine that it’s (almost) been half a year since that day back in November where we both turned each other’s world around…  Although at the moment, we’re going into the quiet time where we don’t say as much, but instead simply enjoy each other’s presence — in spite of whatever else we’re doing.  Take for example yesterday — he sat there watching television while I bounced back and forth between cheesy Kung-Fu movies ("Iron Monkey", "Seven Swords" and "The Storm Riders") and playing a game or two. 
     And no sooner than I started writing this, did he come online.  Well, I’m going to cut this one here for the moment.  Off to chat with him for a little bit, get him to work on an entry that he owes, and perhaps do a little bit more research on FIXMBR and other commands I could try in the recovery console before Hearty Heron hits the streets. 

     Until the next time.

