Home > Computers and Internet > Entry 05/26/2008 11:49:53 AM – Mentat 412

Entry 05/26/2008 11:49:53 AM – Mentat 412

05/26/2008
     T-Minus 10 days and counting. 

     I give up. 
     For the last couple of days, I’ve been trying to work out the sound issue within Linux, dropping over to the other flavors that Canonical offers.  Kubuntu while looking an awful lot like Windows (sort of), trying to use the Add/Remove programs in it is a royal pain in the ass.  Sure, you can install 1 maybe 2 and not feel a thing, but go through a laundry list of them, and it slows down to a crawl; taking up to 3 minutes to add each additional program.  And believe me when I say, I had a hell of a laundry list.  So when I got to about 20 programs, and it I had elapsed almost an hour’s worth of time trying to get through the Adept Manager, I said screw it, and canceled out of it.  Another inconsistency has to be the way software is rated in Kubuntu.  Stellarium has a rating of 4 in Ubuntu, and is considered a KDE program (which should have no problems running in Kubuntu).  In Kubuntu it’s got only a 2 rating.  Hell most of the programs that are recommended for the KDE core are rated significantly lower in Kubuntu. 
     So, I thought what the hell, let me check out Xubuntu.  It should load up faster and I should be able to circumvent the PulseAudio Server using the CA0106 for the SoundBlaster Card that I have.  The first turn off was the login logo.  A rat in the Canonical circle. 
     "Umm, this is professional, how?"  I thought to myself as I watched it log in. 
     I couldn’t get my NTFS partitions to mount.  Even after I installed the Mount Utility, they wouldn’t mount.  Screwed that quicker than you can say, "that’s it, I’ve had it…" 
     Went back to Ubuntu, and was able to fly through the Medibuntu Repository commands, as well as the PulseAudio Fix that I had loaded up the last time I that I had it up and running, and I was finally able to get 5.1 surround to work after I figured out what I needed to do in the Mixer Controls.  However, while there’s still a skip when I’m playing music — particularly when it comes to minimizing and maximizing programs, and perhaps running some processor intensive programs — but at least I’m able to hear sound coming out of all my speakers. 
     Happy about this, I attempted to work out the hardware issue regarding ALSA hardware not recognizing the speaker system beyond 2.1 — as well as trying to get the shared port (Line-In/Microphone) to work.  Finding some information on creating an .asoundrc within my home directory, I attempted to perform a test on the ALSA controls.  Still getting 5.1 sound, and was happy until I minimized Rhythmbox and heard the familiar stutter that it was still running on PulseAudio. 
     I performed a pkill on PulseAudio and when I went into the ALSA Sound Mixer saw that it couldn’t ID the sound server as well as the skip remaining. 
     Throwing my hands in the air, I gave up, swapped out to Windows, and decided to watch television instead. 
     At least I’m able to watch movies, play DVDs and have it all in Dolby Surround…  I’ll waste my time with the Shared Port next time. 

     So it’s Memorial Day…  The cat’s completely back to normal; sitting here on my lap, purring for the next 15 minutes before she gets tired of it and hisses at me before she wanders off.  Nice given that she’s currently drooling on my lap. 

      I’ve got FreeGuide to work on both the Linux and Windows sides; which allows me to check listings and set alarms in case I want to watch something at a specific time.  Given that I can also record with the program that I have in Windows, I’m happy as a clam about that at the moment.  Although the only thing that gets me is that while the program is free, the site that I use to access the information is in fact, subscription.  $20.00/year from what I’ve been able to see.  Although I’m rather hard pressed on paying for something that I can do for free through TV Guide (http://www.tvguide.com). 
     Speaking of, I checked out Skype, and it looks like they phased out their Unlimited Outgoing Service, and have changed it out to include Voicemail and a number for $2.95 a month ($35.40 a year).  At least I’ve got until June 16th to make up my mind as to whether I’m going to continue on using it or not.  I think I might go with it but I’ll think more about it. 

     Not too much else to write about at the moment.  Off to watch a little more television, and perhaps play a game or two.  Until the next time.

