Home > Movies & Television > Entry 11/19/2008 05:49:54 AM – Mentat 454

Entry 11/19/2008 05:49:54 AM – Mentat 454

11/19/2008
     So it’s the quiet time before dawn and I’m not sure whether I want more water, or have tea; as it’s been pretty cold the last couple of days, and I’m not quite dressed as I should be for winter weather.  Deep down inside, even though I deny it every now and again; I’m a New Englander through and through — which means I’ll wear shorts throughout the year, and even put on a winter parka if I have to go outside…  Which of course, I’m going to have to do because I’ve got the trash to throw out for the week.  At least it hasn’t snowed yet and I’m happy for that, even though at least one person I’m acquainted with has been practically praying for it to happen.  Here’s to hoping that it’s only going to be cold instead for the Winter because I’m in no mood to be shoveling at all this time through. 
     It’s been an interesting couple of days.  I’ve watched more than my fair share of movies…  From Enchanted, to a majority of Meet the Robinsons, to a small sections of Underdog and Alvin and the Chipmunks.  Fortunately for me, I couldn’t find any insulin around here to survive the full movies of Underdog and Alvin…  as they were so sickly sweet if I were to watch them from beginning to end, I would probably end up in a diabetic coma.  Saw Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children for the ninety-ninth time and Legend of the Shadowless Sword for the fifth.  I thought about trying to cut through Versus again, but thought twice about it because I couldn’t stand the thought of gratuitous gore.  Watched this Japanese anime short-clip which I can’t remember the name of it at the moment.  About a love affair between a rebel shogunate that was saved by a samurai that had loved him during the war.  Ended rather tragically and had all the classic elements of any tragic anime love affair.  Saw another called Candy Boy which was made in France that was nothing more than utter and complete shite.  Hell, the entire homosexual elements were nothing more than bolt-on sex that had positively nothing to do with the plot at large.  Gauche is another word that comes to mind after watching it. 
     I tried watching Rick & Steve on Logo, and thought it a cleaned-up and completely queerified version of South Park which was a bit too surreal for me and ended up walking off to come and play online. 

     Oh, and I got to see the newest trailer for Star Trek which is supposed to be coming out next year.  Seriously, I had to control my gag reflex several times during it.  I mean, sure I can understand making Kirk the loose cannon come swashbuckler captain, but once again they’re missing the entire point of Spock and his being half-Vulcan.  *sighs*  And every fanboy from here to China absolutely justifying that he’s a "young Vulcan" and that he can’t get his emotions under control.  Children please!  I thought Roddenberry hit the nail on the head when it came to Spock and his shutting down emotions completely in order to find acceptance from his Vulcan peers on the mark.  However in this iteration, JJ Abrams seems to be missing it because of the way that Beavis & Butthead (AKA Berman & Braga) completely bastardized Vulcans in Enterprise.  So we’re going to continue to see the humanization of Spock in such a way that he appears entirely too human, and not enough alien.  And I’m having a really, really hard time imagining Karl Urban as McCoy.  And here I always thought that Scotty was the oldest out of the main crew.  I mean technically Scotty is (played by Simon Pegg), but the age difference between the two of them is only 2 years.  *Looking through IMDB*  Hmmm…  Didn’t know that Doohan and Kelley were the same age..  Eh, just goes to show me, huh? 
     Anyway, I don’t have any hopes for what I’ve currently seen as the possibility of Paramount turning the franchise around, and based on my initial reactions of the second trailer, I’m seriously thinking that I’m going to be remaining an anti-fan for quite some time to come. 

     I got an e-mail from Alan, and it’s confirmed!  It’s the same Alan that left me walking on air for almost three days after meeting him that Labor Day in 1993.  Or rather, the Alan that Rick had hooked me up with because he and Rick had absolutely nothing in common.  Heh, unfortunately though based on what he’s said in the e-mail I get the impression he thinks I’m my old college roommate, Rick…  Either that or he’s clearly got all the facts screwed up and can’t remember.  I’m hoping it’s just age has caught up with him and he’s got the facts a bit mixed up, and need to remember that I can remember events and information longer than most people. 
     Other than correcting him, I have no idea what to say to him.  How do you "catch up" with someone that you met only once, tried to hit it off for the next couple of weeks more than 15 years ago?  Hell, looking through the shit that I went through since meeting Alan, I’m not entirely sure I want to tell him about it.  The psycho-stalker, the abusive…  I mean sure there are plenty of fun things along the way as well….  Gay Spirit Visions, my traveling hither and yon, and so on…  My coming back to the Biggest Little, and the attempts at putting my life together after the abusive one.  But the more that I think about it, the more I almost ashamed to wanting to talk about it.  I mean I can make it sound like such a torch-song.  Not to mention that I don’t want to give him the impression that I’m some raving lunatic.  Sure I’m passionate, but insane?  Nah, I only put that façade on to make people give me some distance when I don’t want to deal with them.  And I don’t want to tell him all because the last time that I took that sort of approach, it ended up being nothing more than war, and me realizing that comparing war-wounds only makes anything resembling friendship a dysfunctional nightmare. 
     Then on the other side, I have the problem that there are just a couple of unresolved feelings in this mix, because of my inherent passion of leaving no stone unturned.  Which would be clearly a complication of issues, given that he is an ordained minister, more than a decade’s past and it’s just me being the closeted eternal optimist.  *shrugging* I might hold off another day and think about it some more before I respond. 

     Of course, it doesn’t help matters that I saw Enchanted through this, which had re-awakened the debate between settling down for a "sensible" relationship versus the passionate, and often wanted wish of a faerie tale, come head-over-heels, happily ever after sort of thing.  While wrestling with this I re-affirmed my overall habit of wanting the latter more than the former, and the two times I had attempted the former, were met with disaster…  I find myself still wrestling with the elements of this, even though I haven’t been able to form cohesive thoughts on it.  I came close to being able to form thoughts on this, but ended up distracting myself if only because I didn’t want to deal with the emotional self-examination because I feared I was going to be harder on myself than I should be.  *sighs*  And now that the moment’s gone, I don’t know how to recapture it.  Eh, I’ll procrastinate on that as well. 

     Not too much else going on at the moment.  I’ll be back soon. Until the next time.

Categories: Movies & Television
