Home > Humor > 25 Random Things About Me

25 Random Things About Me

02/01/2009
Originally taken from Facebook.  I think it worthwhile enough to share everywhere. 

25 Things about me: 

Once you’ve been tagged, you are supposed to write a note with 25 random things, facts, habits, or goals about you. At the end, choose 25 people to be tagged (or as many as you want.) You have to tag the person who tagged you. If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about you.
(To do this, go to “notes” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, type your 25 random things, tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click publish.)

—–

Ha! I usually get these in e-mails and work my relatives nerves with the outlandish things that I say to the questions. Given that it’s completely random, this should be… Interesting. Although I don’t have 25 friends here I’ve already seen LM’s so she’s in the clear from responding back. Woo! 😀

1. If I don’t get my coffee in the morning (which is evening for everyone else), sentient life cowers in fear until I’ve brewed it, and taken a swig or two. Bother me before then, you take life into your own hands. Ask my family about this — they’re stubborn and still learning what this means.

2. My hellbeast is the only woman in my life that I allow to bitch at me when she wants something. Anyone else, pay attention to #1 when approaching me.

3. While I might not take to technology as quickly as I used to in the past, I’m pretty aware of the ins and outs of something as it’s been released to the public.

4. I have been walking to the beat of my own drum and outside the normal circles of society for so long that Wednesday Addams routines comes looking for me to make sense of things.

5. While I might bitch about drama and knowing too many drama queens, I really do enjoy it when other people’s drama is better than mine. That way I can take the best lines from them and use them as my own.

6. I enjoy being nightbreed, in spite of the fact that it makes dating really difficult. See #4 as to why.

7. If I love a game (usually computer type games), I will play them when until the CD’s worn down to clear plastic. Yes, I’m still playing X-Com: Enemy Unknown (1993) and Dark Forces II: Jedi Knight (1997). And they still play on my PC, albeit really fast.

8. I like cheating on the games that I love playing. Life often cheats, why should I play by the rules when I’m recreating if life doesn’t play by the rules either?

9. Decaff coffee has as much purpose in my life as Rush Limbaugh, and belongs in the same place: the trash. So if you ask me if I’d like a cup, make sure it’s high octane enough to make your hair stand on end until the day after tomorrow. Strange though given that my iced coffee is usually white and weak.

10. I feel like I’ve been around the block, back, down the street and half way to the next town. This is because I’ve been out of the closet 30 years (come 9/13/2009) and I frequently deal with folk that are younger than the amount of time I’ve been out of the closet. Hence my saying, "I’ve been out of the closet longer than you’ve been *ALIVE*.

11. Being 45 has had as much impact on me as 30, 35, and 40. So I don’t understand the brouhaha gay men go through thinking that anything over 30 is dead and/or decrepit. Chances are, I can probably outlast and out-stamina someone half my age, and haven’t even broken a sweat in the process either.

12. I have been a geek just a tad bit longer than I’ve been gay… And I’ve been gay all of my life. So don’t blanch or blink an eye if you see such blockbuster movies in my collection as "Star Wars" or "Gamera" or "Godzilla". After all, anyone worth their weight in drama should study from monsters that routinely rampage Tokyo and come back to do it more.

13. I’m still surprised I’m in New England after 3 years, given I talk about Atlanta all the time. They weren’t kidding when they said, "All New Englanders come back, it’s like a siren song." Now if only I could make that siren shut up long enough for me to pick a different place to live.

14. I do my best to mask my Rhode Island accent. Beer or Bourbon bring it out of me every time. Sometimes hanging with people at work, does it as well — but I catch myself more when I’m sober. When I’ve had a drink, my attitude to the slip ups is entirely relaxed. It’s my version of what straight men do when they drink: get naked. I just get naked with my accent.

15. When things are quiet, I often think about Damion or Tommy. Those two impacted me in ways I’m still trying to figure out.

16. I will dance when I’ve had enough to drink — this includes dancing in my chair while I’m writing or chatting. In order to do it in public, it takes more than I care to admit that I’ve had.

17. I will sing only when there’s no sentient life with a mile of me that can confirm that I am singing.

18. I really love my job and my hours. I just wish that the 20-somethings I worked with weren’t so infantile. One is boasting that he’s proud to be a "douchebag". I’m going to introduce him to the concept of being "proud of being an asshole" if he continues.

19. I love being completely nightbreed (night owl for lay folk). I sleep better from noon to 7 PM, and can actually get uninterrupted sleep during this time, in spite of the next door neighbors trying to be butch and running power equipment in the summer. Of course, my next door neighbor needs to understand Wi-Fi security. Perhaps one of these days he’ll get tired of the SSID on his router being "HELLO, PASSWORD ME PLEASE!" when he tries to use it in the morning.

20. While I make comments about needing a drink, I rarely if ever actually give in to that impulse. If I do drink, it’s dark beers, or Jim Beam. And even then it’s not usually much.

21. I miss being able to go out and getting Bourbon Chicken and Greens. Yankees don’t understand how to make biscuits or cheese grits, and mentioning Chik Fil’a or Krystals, I might as well start speaking in tongues. And Sweet Tea? If they give me one more glass of Lipton’s from powder, I’m going to introduce Yankees to the term "go outside and find me a switch."

22. I still have certain southern charms that make people around me give me strange looks. Opening the door for a woman or a man and smiling while doing it makes them think I’m trying to hit on them. Saying please, thank you, and sir/ma’am also causes Yankees to look at me strangely until they catch a touch of the southern accent that I used to have, and then they start talking slower at me.

23. To save humanity, I routinely listen to trance and techno. This prevents #17 from happening more often times than naught.

24. There’s routinely chocolate on my desk at home and at work. Being celibate for 6 years it’s become a satisfying substitute.

25. Finally, I can’t wait for warmer weather. While I don’t mind the cold, I prefer being able to ride my bike to and from work. It’s two hours of exercise that allows me to listen to music, ignore the world around me, and pedal like a madman up and down the hills. It’s almost therapy to the noise I often have going on in my head.

Cheers! This saves the lot of you from a Note on my journal entry until tomorrow. 😀

Categories: Humor
