Home > Life or something like it > Entry 04/12/2011 09:55:16 AM – Mentat 609

Entry 04/12/2011 09:55:16 AM – Mentat 609

04/12/2011

Never regret. If it’s good, it’s wonderful. If it’s bad, it’s experience.” – Victoria Holt

While I don’t want to jinx my luck with saying this as my luck is oftentimes insufferably annoying, but I think that Spring has finally arrived here in the Tundras of New England. The temperatures have been glorious for the last week being anywhere between 52 – 66 F (11 – 18.8 C), with temperatures being just warm enough for me to leave the windows open while I was sleeping. Sure it was more than a little bit chilly when I woke up this morning, though I didn’t really care all that much given that I still have all the winter blankets on the bed, and the Hellbeast was cradled near to my neck. Pain in the butt that she’s been since the windows have been opened the last couple of days as she’s constantly looking out through them because of some imagined noise that she hears on the other side of them. Sure, most of the week has been filled with the next door neighbor as he’s been renovating his house (it looks as though he might be selling it and moving out of the neighborhood), but most of the time after 4 PM it’s been nothing more than the kids up the street and the occasional gust of wind as it pushed through the screen.

Since it’s been this warm, I’ve taken the immediate opportunity for getting the bike tuned up and dusted off and riding through the back parts of the rooftop of the state to getting myself back into shape. Which after the first week of biking up and down some of the hillier parts of the city and neighboring town, reminds me all too keenly just out of shape I actually am. Of course, one of the roads that I decided on taking (Woonsocket Hill Rd, North Smithfield) is certainly not for the faint of heart as some of the inclines closer to Wright’s Dairy Farm are around the 25 – 28 degree incline. Heh, even when pushing the 45 pound (16.7 kg) bike, and about 20 pounds (7.4 kg) in my backpack; I found myself completely winded and barely able to continue on without taking a 5 minute break. Still is a good riding for the week with the last day before taking a weekend break I had gotten up to 9.4 miles (15.1 km) on my last day of riding (Sunday).

Tomorrow (hopefully), when the rain that’s currently drizzling outside has passed, I’m going to need to work on further tuning up the old Schwinn. Seems that the brakes are about worn down (and getting to the point where it’s getting difficult to come to a complete stop quickly), as well as work on finding where the leak is on the back tire. Seems that sometime toward the end of my stint at CBS I had developed a slow leak that I didn’t realize until I had filled the tire on the first day of my escape to the back roads around here that it was there. It’s not so bad for a single day’s ride — but it seems that the tired goes completely flat in about 2 days. I’m sure that it’s only a matter of time before the tire goes completely blow-out flat on me… Better to be safe than sorry.

As for the rest…

Well things are going pretty well for the most part. Drama on dAmn has been kept relatively low mostly because I’ve pretty much kept a low profile thought most of it. And when I do get involved, it’s only for a short burst of comments and then leaving whatever situation is going on at the time to burn out on its own accord. I still find it relatively funny (in the most ironic sort of way) watching these teenagers and twenty-somethings quite literally reinventing the wheel when it comes to the issues, and life choices they are currently going through. And no matter how much common sense, experience, and even guidance through those issues I might be able to give them — they will completely disregard it and make precisely the same mistakes people my age have made when we were their ages. It leaves me wondering sometimes whether we’ll advance at all.

Glenn’s recommended a game to me that was free through Steam called Alien Swarm, which I find to be a bit easier to work with than Modern Warfare 2. I’ve been trying to get used to the game as Glenn wants to grab Stuart and me for a co-op game of it over the weekend, and while the map , personnel selection, and various special function keys; the movement keys are a bit wonky to get used to. I mean sure, W, A, S, D are the standard keys for movement but the problem with them is that when you change direction, the keys also change their orientation. It’s a bit disorienting but about three minutes in, it gets a bit easier to navigate. Still it’s a surprisingly fun game for free through Steam and a heck of a lot less difficult than some of the games that I’ve picked up and played along the way. More on that when I get used to playing it.

This is going to be a short entry (which I’m sure a certain someone is going to be ecstatic about given how long my entries can be… And yes, you know I’m talking about you Glenn). The rest of the chatter’s going to be over here as it’s going to be about the beast of a desktop and some of the insanity that I’ve had going with it.

Until the next time.

