Home > Life or something like it > Picture of the Day 01.03.2012

Picture of the Day 01.03.2012

01/03/2012

01.03.2012 Picture of the Day

I saw this during my walk yesterday that had piqued me enough to go check out today. From what I’ve been able to tell from my looking around the place, the back end of the house had caught fire. It looked like it started around the kitchen area (which had the most amount of damage and charring) and was put out before the rest of the house could catch fire. The inside of the building is pretty barren, as I assume what furniture there had been in there had either been taken or stolen. That which wasn’t was clearly littered strewn around the front of the house — as you can see two mattresses and box springs that had been abandoned.

I’m not sure how long it’s been standing like this as it hasn’t been long enough for vandals to start spray painting graffiti inside or out. The graffiti on the garage next to the building looks like it was done long before the fire, as its in a state of fade even against the chipping paint. I also wonder where the windows are, as there wasn’t much glass about the front of the house and even the frames look like they had been cannibalized.

And not surprisingly, there’s more of buildings like this within my neighborhood. I’ll be uploading more examples in the coming week.

