Home > Life or something like it, Social > The Old Man and his Soapbox

The Old Man and his Soapbox

02/17/2012

Entry 02/17/2012 02:18:17 PM – Mentat 630

Darling, nothing is final ’til you’re dead, and even then, I’m sure God negotiates.” – Baroness Rodmilla De Ghent

You know… I will be cruising along just fine and out of the blue someone will say something to me that will just get my panties in a twist. It’s not always what was said, it’s just the way some things sit with me. For example, I was knackered in the need for a nap. After all, I’m running on 5½ hours of sleep last night. Then as I’m going through various messages one particular site (read: WordPress), I see that my spam trap has caught a message and I was curious what it was…

…it wasn’t some bot trying to foist some site for prescription medication.

…it wasn’t something so completely gibberish as to make positively no sense whatsoever. Or what I affectionately call the “spambot gone insane”.

…it wasn’t some praising my blog while off-handedly trying to foist some site from China.

It was someone suggesting to me that I could do better by adding pictures and/or video to my blog.

Now, I didn’t think too much about it at the first or second read. Once in a while someone will suggest that sort of thing in the 16 or so years I’ve been posting my blog online. They seem to go hand-in-hand with those people that suggest that I use their service so that my blog will get 10,000+ hits.

But on this particular day I decided to check to see if this armchair critic had a site worthy of the critiquing that mine had so carefully received.

This critic’s site 404‘d.

I deleted the comment like I do any of the other 20 or so spam messages that a week I get.

And as I was laying there on the bed with Whiskey on my leg on the verge of falling asleep, I bolted awake. My brains went into overtime and somewhere in the middle of the reasoning that was going on was the impatience that comes from getting advise from someone that appeared to be all talk and no action.

I’ll be back, after I walk all this pent up frustration out.

[Last Edited: 02/17/2012 03:25:02 PM]

A long walk later and I was able to calm down enough to put my thoughts and anger to reasoning. And this is what I have to say on those that suggest how my site can be better.

I’m not here for the popularity.

I’m not here for the adoration of thousands of readers.

I’m not here for the flash, or the bang, or the enticement that want style more than substance.

I am here for this walk through life to learn, to comprehend, to puzzle out the things thrown at me while I live and breathe and have my being.

I am here to put to words the thoughts that come along, the feelings that I experience, and the memories that I have accumulated in my long and eventful life.

I am here for that one person (out of the thousands) that stops by and says (even to themselves), “I can relate.”

I am here for that one person says stops by and says, “I’m not the only one going through this sort of nonsense.”

I am here to express the saying that I live by (which is also sort of my mantra), “How do you know the chosen ones? No greater love hath a man, then he lay down his life for his brother. Not for millions, not for glory, not for fame, for one person, in the dark. Where no one will every know or see.

For in the many years that I’ve wandered around this planet, I’ve come to realize popularity is such a fickle and capricious creature. One moment it’s your best friend. The next, it’s ignoring you. One moment, it’s singing your praises. The next, it’s stabbing you in the back because someone covets the popularity you have earned.

So if you’re feeling the need to suggest to me how I can do better, I have two strong points for you to consider:

The first is that I’ve been writing a blog on and off for the better part of 16 years, been online coming up on 23 years and writing a personal journal diligently for more than 32 years. The average life span of a Blog/Blogger is surprisingly short. And the average lifespan of a journal/diary writer isn’t much better. In that time I’ve seen people start a blog, go up and down the popularity ladder, run off in tears from the first harsh criticism that came along, or simply just gave up without any reason. And yet, I still remain.

Do you think it’s because of the popularity? The criticisms on how I can do better? No, it’s because someone wrote me at the right time (and every time is the right time, but I digress), to tell me, “I’m not alone” or that they related to what I was saying. It’s from the friends that I’ve made. The people that have questioned what I mean and even the people that told me how bat-shit crazy and wrong I am in my perspective of things I’ve shared.

The second is if you still feel the need to share your criticism that you put your money where your mouth is and show just how popular your site is by the advice you share with people like me. We humans have enough people that “talk the talk” and don’t “walk the walk”. Sure it’s easy to give advice to others; it’s as easy as breathing. But if you can’t back up your suggestions by leading by example, don’t expect others to listen to anything you say. Least of all me because as a listener I’m tired of hearing to the verbal diarrhea of people that spout for the sake of hearing themselves speak.

So I’m going to get off my soapbox now and the person who suggested I should put more picture and video to make my site better, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for reminding me, why I’m here.

Until the next time.

