Home > Life or something like it > Picture of the Day 05.15.2012

Picture of the Day 05.15.2012

05/16/2012

05.15.2012 Picture of the Day

They say one of the strongest triggers to a person’s memory is one’s sense of smell. This was most certainly true yesterday when I was on my way back to the house from a 2 mile (3.2 km) walk that I decided to take in the afternoon after my lunch. Out of the smells of clover that was growing in the abandoned lot across the street from the laundromat that I usually go to, I happened to have caught a whiff of something that reminded me of my childhood. In that memory was me pulling the petals off a daisy as a teenage girl would do to determine whether the boy she was eyeing “Loved me” or “Loved me not”.

In that memory of was my slowly pulling apart the yellow center of the flower to behold the geometric simplicity of the carpels (or center of the flower) and how strong the smell was both from the carpels themselves as well as the stem where they were held. So over the cinder block wall I went to take this picture.

