Home > Family, LGBT, Life or something like it > On the other side of the Calendar Line…

On the other side of the Calendar Line…

01/01/2013

Entry 01/01/2013 11:29:12 AM – Mentat 674

People with courage and character always seem sinister to the rest.” – Hermann Hesse

So it’s the beginning of 2013, and I’ve just completed doing all the usual chores that I do for New Year’s Day: Have a different (and large) breakfast, had my morning coffee while cleaning up the house, moved all the files dated for 2012 to the NAS/Archive Repository, looked at how many of the resolutions that I had worked on for the previous year, and which ones will carry over to the new. I have to say that given that most of my world had pretty much come to a grinding halt around July (with the remainder of the year was me puttering along and dealing with all sorts of ugly and toxic emotions because of a deadbeat/douchebag using me), I did pretty well. 5 out of 9 of the resolutions that I had made had been accomplished. 55% according to my understanding of maths. One was out of my hands — though I have plenty of relatives that were willing to help out with it – getting another cat. If I can barely take care of myself, I most certainly can’t take care of a pet. Maybe later on this year.

Come to think of it, another was sort of out of my hands as well (and one that is going to carry over to this year) is dating and perhaps having a boyfriend. After my last entry talking about what I’ve had to deal with before the end of 2012, I think know I’m going to be a hell of a lot more rigid about following the rules that I posted in that entry. Particularly when you consider the sort of folk that have been hitting me up from the area. I’m sure I’ll be dancing about this subject in the year ahead… Heh, what can I say? I’m a drama queen — I live for that sort of dance (and drama) sometimes.

So, looking at the current list this year I have about 14 resolutions that I’m going to be working on throughout 2013. While I won’t talk about them in a public journal entry, as some of them are incredibly personal, I can tell you readers (*waves* hey there folk, Merry New Year!) that a couple of them are carryovers from last year, a good amount of them (this year) have to deal with the impact of dealing with the deadbeat/douchebag and the repercussions that his using me has caused. And a couple of them are the sort of self-improvement resolutions I feel that I should be working on as I close in on my half-century mark… come 2014. Let’s see how many of those that I complete for the coming year and what it was that effected me to stop what I was doing on my road to self-betterment.

As for me at the moment, I’m just idling the next hour before heading over to my mother’s for a couple of hours for her annual New Year’s Party. I’m glad that she’s only 15 minutes from here and that I can walk it — though I can’t wait to see how much of the snow that hit us over the weekend has frozen to ice and made the sidewalks between the firehouse and Marcello Street absolutely hazardous. It’s those areas that have no one to shovel out the sidewalks and given the foot traffic on them, it should be pressed down and frozen over the last couple of days. Heh, if there’s nothing more from me, then you know that I’ve slipped to my death…

Such a drama queen, I know…

It’s because I’m still sore. The day before yesterday I had shoveled out the entire section of the parking lot and walkways here at the homestead and two other addresses down the street. While I couldn’t finish out one of the addresses (the one that seems to have more shut ins than the house next door to mine here at the homestead); after 6 hours and the fact that the guy that was supposed to plow the three addresses was a no show, I had my fill of the wet, cold, wind (and wind chill) and the ever building soreness, aches and pains. The last couple of days Aspercreme has been a close personal friend for the aches and pains that I’ve had in my lower arms, lower back and shoulders, and while it might not smell as medicinal or as geriatric as say Bengay, I know I have it on me by the whiff of an odor I catch when I move. At least I own a couple of colognes that I can use to hide the smell of it and might use one of ’em before heading on over.

Anyway, I’m zoning at the moment and having momentary over-emotional reactions to a couple of the songs that I’ve listened to, which means that I need something to eat. I’ll probably be back later to wrap this entry up before wandering off to playing a game (or two) before passing out. Until then.

[Last Edited: 01/01/2013 07:02:55 PM]

All right, I’m home for the moment and I survived the walk through some of the icier parts of the sidewalks between here and my mother’s house. Although the worst parts of the walk were mostly predictable: like the bridge over Route 6 and of course the property on Atwells that used to be the old 3M Plant. Seriously, I don’t know what or how either areas are going to handled, but someone at City Hall should seriously look into it. The most surprising however was Holy Ghost Church that seemed to have had no problems getting a walkway shoveled from their parking lot to the front door… Or the side door to the rectory to the sidewalk, but didn’t do anything about any of the sidewalk around their square in the front of the church. Talk about lazy or irresponsible… I can’t tell which. Pity I didn’t take a picture of it though. I was running late because of the walk, and it was too dark by the time I headed home, else I’d share. If I have the time and perhaps the energy tomorrow, I might. We’ll see though.

Still pretty stuffed from the spread my mother put out for us and friends for New Year’s Day… My mother still hasn’t worked out how to cook in moderation. Too many years cooking for the five of us didn’t help matters… But at least I have a couple of days of leftovers here thanks to her going all out… For those times after work that I absolutely positively don’t have the energy to cook a meal for supper or prepping a meal for lunch (which I tend to eat bigger because of the amount of labor that I do)…

Interesting having the reminiscing moments when my mother’s friend mentioned that she works at Hemenway’s and was working last night during New Year’s Eve. Brought me back to more than 20 years ago when being with Darin he used to work there as a waiter as well. Some of the horror stories that she was telling at the table reminded me of some of the stories Darin used to tell me when he got home after a stressful night/holiday event. As the saying goes, “the more things change, the more they remain the same.”

Well, that’s about it for the time being… I feel like I’m rambling. Until the next time…

